Stick a cork in it!

Just walked through the door, purse down, jacket off, time to unwind, no one’s home. A glass of wine maybe? But should I really open a full bottle?

If my roommate were home I wouldn’t feel so bad about opening one. But a glass would just be soooooo nice right now. And there just happens to be a few too many lying around the house for my “tasting and learning purposes” (insert muffled cough here). A glass of wine? No glass of wine? To be or not to be? I opt to flip a coin and let fate decide. Heads— I open the bottle, Tails…well you know how it works. Heads… oh boo hoo.

Once the pivotal moment of pulling the cork has taken place there’s no turning back.

After a glass or two (I once read that 3 oz pours work best), I’m right were I want to be. Comfortable. Relaxed. I even got a little dose of reality T.V. time in (a dirty little secret that is between me and the television. Not intended for the masses to know). The masses? Is anyone reading this? I can only hope. So, although I’ve been in the industry for several years, that doesn’t mean I can single handedly finish off a whole bottle.  And even if I could, I don’t think I could last the night. But that doesn’t mean the wine can’t.

There are many wines that can hold their own after being recorked, and some can get even better when revisited the next day.  It’s all contingent on a few key elements.  From what I’ve noticed over the last couple years, is that the wine’s age and structure are the most significant factors.  A young, fuller bodied red with solid tannins, good acidity and fruit, as well as relatively high alcohol, is the perfect candidate to open one day and save for the next.  White wine can also hold up as long as they have sufficient fruit, alcohol and are on the full bodied side. I look at it this way, opening a bottle with this criteria to enjoy and save for the following day is almost equivalent to decanting an entire bottle and finishing it that evening.  By either using a vacuum seal or re-corking the bottle, this relatively slow introduction of the wine to air won’t spoil it, but help it breathe a bit and come to life.  Once re-corking a bottle, it’s best to place it directly into a refrigerator.  At cooler temperatures, chemical reactions are slowed down and the wine will not fall off the cliff as quickly as it would if left out on the table.

Don’t believe me? Stick a cork in it and see for yourself.

Overnight wines:

Vallana Colline Novaresi Spanna 2008, $16.99

Alhambra Cabernet Sauvignon 2010, $13.99

Giacomo Conterno Barbera 2009, $49.99

Martine Barraud Pouilly Fuisse La Roche 2008, $44.99

Fontaine Gagnard Chassagne Bourdriotte 2008,$79.99

**No wines were harmed or damaged during the writing of this blog

– Amelia Lammann

3 Comments »

  1. What is your thought on using argon instead of the vacuum seal? I find it works great. Another great move is to keep an empty half bottle around and fill that up with the leftover, diminishing the amount of empty space in the bottle.

    • Amelia Lammann said

      The half bottle is absolutely a great way too. Unfortunately I have a tendency to throw them out and always forget to save one for that exact reason. As for the argon I haven’t tried but will in the future. Thanks so much for the comment. Cheers!

  2. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in
    your post is simply excellent and i can assume you are
    an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow
    me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming
    post. Thanks a million and please keep up the
    rewarding work.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

