The Caribbean Manhattan

I love Manhattans. I love them so much that I even drink them in the summer. However, I am someone who enjoys variety. It’s the spice of life.  But I am also someone who loves the old classics. The Old Fashioned, the 7 & 7, and obviously the Martini come to mind. A gin martini. I do feel that it’s my job (literally) to point out that there are a lot of “mishugana” martini’s (vodka “martinis”) being poured today. But that’s another blog altogether.

A revolutionary idea?

Anyway, I am going out on a limb here. I am changing the primary ingredient in the classic Manhattan. Boy howdy! Do away with your favorite Rye or Bourbon and substitute in the Clement VSOP Rhum Agricole. It works great. Don’t believe me? Try it. It took me hours and hours of mixing to figure out something so simple, yet so complex. Who else would do something like that? In my defense, I only changed one ingredient (albeit the most sacred). But who knows… this may start a worldwide trend. It may change lives. Kentucky may riot.

So…does this really justify the spending of an inordinate amount of my very precious time?  Either way.

The Caribbean Manhattan

  • Clement VSOP Rhum Agricole (2 parts) Arguably the finest rum producer on the market today. This VSOP tastes remarkable like a rye whiskey with sweet notes of vanilla, cinnamon and roasted banana. It works! – $39.99
  • Carpano Antica Vermouth (1 part)Hailing from the old country (Italy…we are in Northern New Jersey), this vermouth’s profile is slightly more herbal than most. Adding complexity and not sugar. – $35.99
  • Luxardo Amarascata Jam (One scoop) – Made from the finest Luxardo cherries, these preserves are a bit drier than the liquor making it a perfect complement to a drink that shouldn’t be too sweet! – $19.99
  • Regan’s Orange Bitters (a dash or two) – Some of the best Orange bitters on the market, with a tart, “rindy” flavor.  – $6.99

All products are available at Amanti Vino!

Leave a Reply

